Lawn Clippings: ZekeIsAwesome Blog

Thoughts from the $300 Lawn Mower of Comedy: Zeke Thomas

2011: Red Bull Soap box Derby

leave a comment »

It is with great pleasure that I announce that I’ll be participating in the Red Bull Soapbox Derby with The City of Bell Pickpockets.

The car is already in full swing and I’m producing the opening sketch/musical number.  Music and theme have been selected and team leader/driver Paul Pearson’s racer is gonna rip.  The plan is to set the speed record this year so I’ve got my work cut out for me not only in producing but also in the gym so we can get that giant sled of his flying down the hill.

Here are some behind the scene pictures of the work in progress.

The prototype

City of Bell Pickpockets: Red Bull - The prototype Red Bull Soapbox derby base model

The workshop

Paul Pearson: The work shop

Bare bones

“City of Bell Pickpockets has hired a top notch Hollywood producer to choreograph the script!!!!!!”

This quote from the City of Bell Pickpockets graced their facebook page after I signed on.  I try not to believe my own bullshit, but I don’t mind believing other people’s.  Updates to follow.

The Event

The Red Bull Soap Box race will take place this year on May 21st on historic Grand Ave. and with the finish line at Pershing square. It’s a human-powered race of epic proportions where we’re judged on three criteria: Speed, creativity, and showmanship.  There will be crashes and dances and plenty of wacky antics due to the fact that I’ll have waaaaaaayyyyy too much taurine and caffeine running through my system.

Written by ZekeIsAwesome

May 11, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Leave a Reply

