Lawn Clippings: ZekeIsAwesome Blog

Thoughts from the $300 Lawn Mower of Comedy: Zeke Thomas

The Pot of Gold and Creative Zeitgeist

leave a comment »

I’m a guy who is always looking for patterns in life.  Be it history on a macro level or a person’s reaction to a constant stimuli, life is full of trends.  And as I learned, show business is no different.  Over the past month, I was asked to read for the role of a leprechaun on 2 separate occasions.  Both of these reads happened within about a week within each other, but the projects could not have been more different. Is there some sort of creative zeitgeist going on that I’m not aware of?  Maybe it’s cool to be Irish again?  Is Irish the new Black?

I’m not sure.

But something tells me that this is more than just some sort of wacky coincidence.

I firmly believe that comedy, just like history is cyclical.  For example, if you look at any of the mainstream comedies right now, you’ll notice that the name “Steve” is the current comedy name du jour.  Jokes are just funnier right now if they are utilizing the name “Steve” in either the setup or punchline.  I don’t know the how or the why of it, but it just is.  There has to be some sort of comedy tribunal that meets on a semi-annual basis in Geneva or Bretton Woods and hands down proclamations.

“After careful thought and long deliberations, the Tribunal has made its ruling.  ‘Dan’ will no longer be the comedy go-to name.  ‘Dan’ is f*cked-out.  ‘Steve’ is in.  You have 26 weeks to maximize your ‘Steve’ comedy.  Go forth and let the scribes know!”

And now a word about casting directors. It is often said  in this business that “you gotta know your type”.   Well let me tell you something Liz Lemon, these casting directors may have missed their mark.  Having been doing this for a number of years, I know my wheelhouse.  I have the whole poorman’s Ben Stiller thing down to a tee.  Generic brown person? Check.  Goofy looking guy with shiny and manageable hair? Double Check.  However, when I look in the mirror I don’t see a crazy-drunken-Irishman-with-a-pot-of-gold-and-a-four-leaf-clover.  Don’t get me wrong, I know I’m on the shorter side of the height spectrum but this hasn’t been a surprise to me for a long time.  I also concede that in the years that I declared myself punk rock, my nuclear red colored hair may have led people to think that I was a ginger atomic fallout survivor.  But my red head days are long gone . . . for now.  But I digress. . . .

In the spirit of the comedy revival of the leprechaun, I present to you a news story out of Mobile, AL that caught my attention about 3 years ago.  It still makes me laugh.

And in case Irish really is the new Black I also offer you the re-mix:

Stay street. Stay Irish

– $300

Written by ZekeIsAwesome

November 24, 2009 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

